Observed.

2005-11-17 at 11:57 p.m.

I got reviewed yesterday. Mr. M., the administrator in charge of the math department, sat in on a class yesterday that somehow, amazingly, just turned out AMAZING. I am, appropriately enough, amazed.

I had originally planned on having M sit in on a class where we'd do an investigation--a hands-on experiment that had everyone involved, inventing, and interested. Sadly, events conspired against us--a fire drill the day before put us behind a day, so I postponed his observation by a day, but then M got sick and... blah blah blah. He had to get his investigation in THIS WEEK so... fuckit. He was going to observe a humdrum everyday class.

And it turned out to be one of those classes where everything fell into place. It was one of those days where, across the room, I could hear kids say, "OOooooh, I get it NOW!" and where I could see other kids leaning over to help the kid next to them.

At first, I thought I was going to die because Schnitzie, a diva jock guy, swanned in late and all, "I'm heeeere!" and then took four minutes to sit down (which in a 55 minute class, is a FREAKING ETERNITY) despite my stink eye and "What should you be doing?"s and "Schnitzie! That's enough now."

T-dogg, an all-hip, I've-got-iPod-nano tool, was trying to be all sly: "Schnitzie! LOOK TO YOUR LEFT!" all sotto voce, but Schnitzie was swanning and couldn't be bothered. It kind of cracked me up that T-dogg was the one most aware of an administrator in the room since he has the most devil-may-care attitude, but I really shouldn't be surprised. So much is an act in high school anyway, and T? He's a smart kid.

But the class went well--it was just an everyday class and things went well and we got a ton done and everything was amazing.

Hot damn!

0 people had something to say