The beginning

2003-06-01 at 4:58 p.m.

Here it is, my Online Training Diary.

That sounds so formal.

Here's the deal. I'm so excited--I'm doing Cowalunga again this year! I didn't think it'd be possible. I was fairly certain, being as I'm unemployed, down to scarce financial resources, and relatively unable to justify the trip, that I wasn't going to be able to go do the ride.

But then Ned, lovely Ned, said he has some spare frequent flier miles and he'd be able to help me out. Thank you Ned!

So now I'm going to train in earnest. Last year? The hills? Kicked my sweet ass.

Let me explain. I'm Midwestern. And lived in Chicago. And in Chicago? What people call hills are more like a slight dip. And then we get to the Kettle Moraine in Wisconsin in all it's glacial roly-poly glory, and ay caramba!

It literally chapped my ass. Trust me, I have the pictures to prove it. It wasn't pretty.

So this year, I'm going to do it right. I'm living in a city with a hill or two and I plan to put them to good use.

So join me! Please! And donate.

0 people had something to say