She's baaaack!

2003-06-19 at 11:07 a.m.

...and I'm rarin' to go.

Ah. After a few days off, it's hard to get started again. Yesterday I kept berating myself in a little self dialogue.

"You really should get out. You'll feel so much better if you do."

"But it's hooooooot..."

"But it won't be once you're on the bike! Remember that, when you realized that once you've got a little momentum you kick up a little breeze? And you're much cooler? Remember?"

"But I'm tiiiiiired..."

"It won't take long, and then you can nap to your itty bitty heart's content."

"But I don't waaaaaanna..."

"Remember all those days you sat there thinking about how your training's all off track and you won't be in nearly as good shape as you wanted to be? Don't be a whiny bitch! Just go!"

"But the day's almost ooooover..."

"Wuss."

I ended up biking to Citybikes and buying a rear rack, a pannier, and some slicks. Sadly, Citybikes is about a quarter-mile away, so that didn't count much for my training regimen.

But I have slicks now!

Anyway, today I biked up to PSU to get my textbooks for my classes. The PSU campus is not quite four miles away, and not a bad ride. I get to ride over the river, so that means I have my choice of routes--I could take the Burnside Bridge or the Hawthorne Bridge or if I wanted to go out of my way I could take the steel bride or even Sellwood... ah, the choices... But that means I'll be getting at least eight miles a day in, which is good. That plus a training ride in the evening means I'll be up over thirty miles a day in no time.

Can I tell you, the PSU campus must have done a lot of construction in the sixties and seventies. Every other building looks a little like a bomb shelter. The buildings are either stately turn-of-the-century neoclassical brick-and-columns or they're poured cement "in the future, we'll all fly to work!" squat blocks. I felt quite ignorant--I didn't know what classes I was in, where they were, who the profs were, or where the bookstore was, which made finding textbooks a little like a scavenger hunt. Gave me lots of time to peruse the buildings.

In the meantime I've got ten miles in today already, with intentions of going out again this afternoon. It's grey and temperate today, maybe sixty, so it's great biking weather. As long as it doesn't rain. And I don't get in an argument with myself again.

0 people had something to say