Rain on my window.

2003-09-07 at 4:19 p.m.

Sweet Lord A'mighty, it's finally, finally raining!

I know, I know: I live in Portland. Doesn't it rain ALL the time here?

The secret is: Jesus, it's been a long, hot, dry summer. And evidently, the summers are always long and dry, but not this jaw-droppingly HOT. I mean, walk-slowly-because-the-air-hurts hot. And recently, it's been humid until 9 or 10, which is unreal.

But today's the first sweet smell of rain in the air. I've been walking around for days and days saying I couldn't wait until it rains, and now that it's here, I want to sit in front of the fire with hot chocolate (not that we have any) and cozy up and mellow out.

It smells wonderful: all earthy and rich with freshness and just the slightest bit of tang in the air. The static-sound of rain and wind in the trees is just enough to make everything seem slightly more private.

I can finally be glad I have pants on--I'm even contemplating a sweater.

Sweet Jesus. An entry about the weather. I'm old before my time.

0 people had something to say