You never get a second chance to leave a lasting impression...

2003-10-14 at 11:38 a.m.

I finally got an email from my boss in the Math Skills office at my college. Yay, he'll write me a recommendation! Seems he wasn't quite sure who I was (it was ten years ago, almost), so he wanted to look me up.

Sorry for the long delay in getting back to you. But I must admit that my first reaction upon reading your e-mail was "Kari Who?" First I tried looking through old zoo books. But they didn't go back that far. So I asked centeral records for a copy of my work evaluations for you. I got one last Friday and after reading through it several times, I have some vague memories of your work experience with me. But a picture would certainly be more helpful. At any rate I think I have enough information to write a recommendation for you if you still would like one.

So I wrote him back, trying to help:

I thought that might be why. If this helps: I sold you my old rollerblades, but I couldn't find my wristguards. I'm really tall (but that year there were a lot of really tall female math majors, so maybe that doesn't help). Um... Doesn't Dacie Moses house keep zoo books? It would have been 1992. Or year books? I graduated in 1996... I remember Dacie Moses had my PARENTS' zoo books from 1962...

Anyway. I'm sure whatever you write will be fantastic.

Apparently, that jarred his memory enough:

Kari,

Were you the one who was wearing bib overalls while looking into the mirror in the CMC women's bathroom and the bib on your overalls trigered the automatic faucet which then turned on and ran water into your overalls?

Russ

Ah, to leave lasting memories behind is truly a blessing and a privilege.



0 people had something to say