Matilda.

2004-01-16 at 8:32 a.m.

So, did I tell you? The pup's name is Matilda, as in Waltzing Matilda.

Once a jolly swagman camped by a billabong,
under the shade of a Coolibah tree;
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
"Who'll come a waltzing Matilda with me?".

Chorus: Waltzing Matilda, waltzing Matilda,
who'll come a waltzing Matilda with me;
And he sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled,
"Who'll come a waltzing Matilda with me?".


Along came a jumbuck to drink at the billabong,
up jumped the swagman and grabbed him with glee;
And he sang as he stowed that jumbuck in his tucker bag,
"You'll come a waltzing Matilda with me?".

Chorus

Up rode the squatter, mounted on his thoroughbred,
Down came the troopers, one two three;
"Whose is that jumbuck you've got in your tucker bag?",
"You'll come a waltzing Matilda with me.".

Chorus

Up jumped the swagman and lept into the billabong,
"You'll never catch me alive.", said he;
And his ghost may be heard as you pass by the billabong,
"Who'll come a waltzing Matilda with me?".

Chorus


The usual interpretation of waltzing Matilda is basically "wandering". It's from the Germanic immigrants to Australia, where "walz" meant to learn a trade while moving from place to place, eating and sleeping wherever available. The "Matilda" part is apparently Old German meaning Battle Maiden, and originally meant the wives and girlfriends who accompanied the soldiers on campaign. Eventually Matilda meant the blanket that soldiers used to sleep for the night (the Matilda kept them warm).

So anyway, it's a bit of a sad song, but quite fun to sing, and sometimes Matilda seems like a strange name, but other times it fits totally and wholly. She does this little foot stomping dance when she thinks we're about to take her outside (basically, any time someone puts on shoes, takes a coat out of the closet, moves towards the door, stands up, or sits down, or, y'know, breathes). And let me tell you, we have to go on major walkabout to walk her. Especially after Couch Potato Jupiter, this is a little hard to get used to.

So, Matilda, everyone. Tillie, Tilda, Divine Miss M, and (I'm sure) more nicknames to follow.

PS: One question. When I work from home in the morning, all she does is wander around and whimper. The only time she doesn't whimper is when I'm actively petting her or we're outside together, which unfortunately interferes somewhat with the "working" part of "working from home". I've moved her dog bed to on the floor next to my chair, I've brought in toys, I pay attention to her every five, ten minutes. She doesn't do this when we're both home. And it is scraping across some rather raw nerves. Anyone have any idea what's going one with this poor girl? More importantly, how on earth can I get her to stop???

0 people had something to say