And the chaos. The chaos.

2004-09-10 at 11:08 p.m.

At the end of a week like this, I feel that sort of wrung-dry tired that seems like I should look as wasted and used up as I feel, but somehow, I don't look any thinner. Damnit.

A bunch of chaos enveloped my student teaching placement. Do you remember your student teachers? I hope you at least appreciate the nebulousness that occurred with their presence in your high school (middle school, elementary) classrooms. I was rather unceremoniously yanked from my (fairly cushy) previous placement at the Richy Rich Portland high school (that, if you went to my college, a certain over acheiving math-physics double major came out of). The reasons weren't anything to do with me, and somehow I bore the brunt of having to explain my sudden change, glossing over some of the reasons for the sake of leaving in a politically friendly manner. That's Cryptic for "I can't discuss it because I don't want to hurt my chances of ever getting a job." Especially not on a website someone could find via Google and that would pretty obviously link back to me if one knew what one was looking for.

I'm not entirely displeased with the outcome, yet the method of it left MUCH to be desired. I'm still harboring some resentment at others' disorganization that sort of fomented this situation.

Anyhoo, I'm out at a new and entirely different high school. For one, it's HUUUUUUUUGE. Andrew's home town, where he lived for eighteen years, is less than half as big as the high school. Probably more like a third as big once you count in faculty and staff. And the student body is definitely different--at once both more homogeneous and more diverse. Racially more homogeneous, but socio-economically MUCH more diverse.

What's better: they more than likely will be hiring for next fall.

I'm hearing all sorts of crazy stories, like about the crazy masturbator who sat in the front row of his math class and, well, masturbated. Constantly.

There hasn't been anything in my teacher training that has prepped me for that yet. I'll let you know when I get to it.

Good god, I can't wait to start teaching. All SORTS of new experiences await me.

2 people had something to say