Extra work.

2004-10-23 at 11:17 a.m.

Oh, dear sweet Lord, the pain. It's like someone's squinching me, like they're twisting me like a bottle of Absolut Citron, like there are twenty tiny tap dancers kick-stepping from hip bone to hip bone.

Yay, I love that time of the month.

This week was looooooong.

So I was talking with Coach (my cooperating teacher) this week. We were talking about winter term and how it was going to work. I'm going to be taking over one of his classes, which he's really excited about. That term is his coaching season, and so if he has one less class to plan for and grade, he has that much more time for his coaching.

However--and this is the important part--I'm also taking over an Algebra 1 class for another teacher. The rest of Coach's classes are Algebra 1.

"Y'know," I said yeterday afternoon. "I'm already doing the prep for Algebra 1 for winter term. I could do one of your Algebra classes too."

He swiveled his head toward me, mouth slightly agape.

"Since I'm taking your 4th period," I said slowly, "and I'm taking over the other teacher's 1st period Algebra 1, I could take your, what, 3rd period?"

He doesn't move and barely breathes, starting to contemplate the possibilities.

"Your prep is 5th period, right? And I'd have your 3rd and 4th period..."

"...and I'd... only be teaching... 1st and 2nd?" he squeaks out gradually, not even looking at me. "I... couldn't... I couldn't..."

"I mean, I'm already doing the prep, right?"

"I couldn't... let..."

"And it'd make me a more attractive candidate, because I'd have a fuller schedule."

His voice became even more strained as his eyes started to light up.

"I couldn't... let... everyone know how little I was working!"

I was serious. I'd have three classes, the extra work would be significant but not unreasonable, and I think it would be a good if hard experience for me.

I wonder if he's going to take me up on it.

0 people had something to say