Driving me mad

2004-12-07 at 8:35 p.m.

I manage to freak myself out regularly on my way to the high school.

My drive to work is really easy by Chicago standards. I have about six blocks to drive to hop on the freeway, ten miles on really un-clogged roads, then I have three miles and pop, I'm at the high school. Twenty minutes when things are normal, slightly more if things are bad.

My last job in Chicago was about the same distance--ten miles or so--but took an hour. An hour on a good day. If there was--god forbid--an accident or rain or snow or a breeze or maybe a pretty butterfly coming by the traffic would slow to a standstill and it could take two hours.

So maybe it's just that I'm not used to driving twenty minutes at--ahem--certainly no faster than the speed limit. But sometimes I sit there, on those moments when I crest a little hill and see the winding trail of taillights ahead of me, and marvel that here we all are, driving at--ahem--certainly no faster than the speed limit, and we're all winding in and out of different lanes of traffic and whizzing along and jesus. This could go really bad really quickly. How do we all know that we're going to signal before we change lanes, or that we're all noticing all the cars around us, or JESUS, it's really early in the dark in the morning, what if the dude behind that truck is falling asleep or what if *I* fall asleep because it's REALLY dark out here and there are four lanes of traffic and chill chill CHILL CHILL!

I'm trying to get more sleep at night. I think that might help.

0 people had something to say