Be it resolved.

2005-01-04 at 10:52 p.m.

So, New Year's. Come, gone. Did I make New Year's resolutions?

Not really.

I'm caught up in this hell that is commonly called The First Year of Teaching. I've got one class of sophomores and up that is schooled in the art of Testing the Teacher; I'm just trying to keep my head above water. Before winter break, in class one day, I looked up and surprise! Johnhy had walked out of class. Johnny, I feel obligated to note, is 6'3". It's obvious when he isn't there. Considering he'd walked out of class and, oh, I'd noticed, I was obligated to Write Him Up which sounds officiously official and it is. But I did and he got Writ Up.

Nothing happened before Christmas.

Today, in class, 2nd period, there was a note from him from the VP of Discipline, Ms. Cathy. "Come immediately", said the little pass delivered by a student who works in the office. I suspected, but didn't note, what the note was about, considering it was delivered to dear Johnny. I gave him the note and said go ahead, leave your books, and if you don't get back in time, I'll have them in my office.

Sadly, all things considered, he got back in time.

"Thanks Mrs. ___ for sending me to Tuesday School!" he announced, walking back in class. Tuesday School is the euphemism for detention at my high school. Referred students spend Tuesdays in in-house suspension.

"Oh, you earned that, all on your own," I replied, and went on with the class.

Later, when class calmed down, but a couple other students were remarking on it, I asked him what he was doing, sharing it with everyone. "I don't care," he insisted defiantly.

"That's okay," I said. "I just want us to get along." I explained I'm liable for him, legally, if he's supposed to be in my class, so I have to write him up if he's not there. I can't afford to support whatever he's doing by not being there. All I want is a good class, whether he's there or not.

"Fine," he said.

Fine, I said.

What can my New Year's resolution be? Stay caught up on grading? Ha. Not have students call me on my fake teachery bullshity? Double ha.

Make it out of these six months alive? Maybe. I think that'll be a good New Year's resolution.

I'm off to bath in a vat of cheap chardonnay until then.

2 people had something to say