I do be a kettle.

2005-01-24 at 9:25 p.m.

Emily made me laugh the other day. I'd just spent about fifteen minutes whinging just a bit about Precious, a girl in one of my algebra classes. She's taking on this huge challenge, coming into algebra B without algebra A, and getting a C--which is amazing, when you think about it. She's wigging out that she's not going to get an A and an honor cord and be a valedictorian. (At the same time--she hasn't made up a single quiz she's missed, owes me about fourteen homeworks, and I think she's working the Overacheiver Angle to get a pity grade bump.)

I repeated a conversation I had with her--maybe she should really revel in the fact she's putting a LOT of pressure on herself and she's doing really well.

Emily smiled, amused.

"Oh, this is from the student teacher who wants to teach everyone?"

"Yes, but--"

"Who stresses about not having everything graded?"

"Yes but---"

"Who wants to be the coolest math teacher ever and is freaking about whether kids like her?"

"Yes, but--"

"Maybe you should just appreciate the fact you have this great job, like, before you finish student teaching, and are doing really well."

I stared at her open mouthed before I fell over laughing. I've never been quoted back at myself so effectively. And appropriately.



0 people had something to say