Catch-up

2003-06-06 at 11:57 a.m.

Well, another 13 miles on Wednesday. Good ride.

Our internet connection was down yesterday, and I'm trying to fix this problem where you can't see any of the old entries, so I didn't update when I should.

And I should ride today, but if I do it won't be until dark because it is HOT today. I mean, heat-wave-stores-closing-fry-an-egg-on-the-sidewalk HOT. Supposed to be a high of 98. And that's a poor excuse, because if it's hot on Cowalunga, we don't get a choice, we still ride, so I should be willing to do it, but I'm just too busy and wah wah wah.

I know, poor baby.

Wednesday was good, though. I went to River City Bicycles again, this time to have my bike "fitted", make sure I have things at the right height and what-all. I managed to get out of there without spending as much as I wanted to, but I still spent more than I should. Sigh.

Wish list:

  1. New, leaner saddle. Mine is too cushy, with I think contributed to my, ahem, "issues" last year.

  2. Handlebar pack with a flap for a map

  3. Women's tank-top biking jerseys. I'd love those with the little pockets on the back, in the really lightweight mesh.

  4. Another pair of short cycling shorts. The padded crotch? Good. So very very much my friend. And I'd prefer shorter to longer, like my other shorts are.

  5. Biking socks. Shut up.

  6. And my big, really far-off wish: a road bike.

I have money for none of those. I might work out the saddle, and the pack, and I'm fine. I'll just covet from afar on all those other things.

After my fitting on Wednesday, it was only 3, so I convinced myself to go for a ride. I biked over to the entrance to Forest Park. Forest Park is going to be my grail of a bike ride. When I can do the whole round trip through the Park, then I'll know I'm in shape. Wednesday? I was red-faced and huffing by the time I got to the entrance.

So, I really really should bike today, but I think I'll wait until tonight before I put it off until tomorrow.

heh.

0 people had something to say