Biking in Portland.

2003-06-30 at 8:42 p.m.

So, I biked to the top of Mt. Tabor again yesterday, this time measuring it. It rises 600 feet (if I'm reading the map correctly) and the spiralling path is about one mile long. It took me fifteen minutes to do, which ain't great, but I'm still just getting pleasure from the fact that I can do it without stopping.

That and, starting next Monday, I have to make it from the PSU campus to the top of Mt. Tabor in about forty minutes. Twice, maybe three times a week. That'll sure contribute to me being in shape, or at least, used to monotonous inclines.

Anyway, I got to the top of Mt. Tabor, and there was a gathering of people there. Two were separated from the crowd, so I coasted over to ask them what was up. "A memorial," one said, looking haggardly at me.

"I'm so sorry," I said, and biked away, mildly embarassed.

Oops.

It turns out, it was a memorial for two bikers that got killed by a drunk driver last week.

It's a particularly sad story: four friends were biking at about a quarter after midnight, after a particularly hot summer day, when a drunk driver, blood alcohol level at almost four times the legal limit, and who's never had a valid license in seventeen years of driving, and who'd been arrested for multiple DUIs in the past, drove up behind them. After swerving to miss the rear biker, he hit the other three, killing two of them instantly. You can read more about it here or here.

It's tragic, and there's nothing else you can say about that--the bikers were following the law, biking sober, going home on a beautiful summer night with all lights in place. The driver was disobeying several critical laws, and will probably go to jail for a long time. Two people ended up dead.

The Friday after the accident, there was a Critical Mass ride to the scene of the accident, and some excellent pictures in the paper the next day showing bicyclists holding a fifteen minute hold-up of traffic by holding their bikes in the air. Massive protest (for example, here is an account of the Critical Mass ride), quotes in the newspaper, everything.

I can't help but wonder, though, if Portland cyclists realize how good they've got it.

After six months of riding through Portland, I can't help but be SHOCKED at how often cars will stop for me to let me cross the road. The margin 90% of cars give me when they pass me is comforting. Half the time, though, cars don't even pass--they stay behind until we come to two lanes or until one of us turns. They, as a general rule, don't honk, swear, throw full styrofoam cups of coffee.

There are some exceptions, of course, but there are always dickheads and douche bags who, unfortunately, are still granted drivers licenses. You can't blame a city for its crappy element, if they are clearly in the minority.

Especially when a city tries so hard.

Every bus--every bus--has the capability to carry two bikes. The light rail system has areas specifically designed to hold bikes. There are bike lanes on what feels like every fifth road, although it's probably not. There are some major intersections that come equipped with bike sensors so that bikes can trigger the traffic lights. There are bike racks in front of every bar, restaurant, and most shops. There are bike paths along the Willamette, the Columbia, and the freeway. Businesses get tax breaks to install showers to encourage bike commuters. There are covered parking spaces specifically for bikes that you can rent by the month.

And the bikers themselves are such a diverse and friendly group. Racers nod to upright bicyclists who smile at the mountain bikers who acknowledge the messengers.

As Andrew said the other night, "If you're going to ride as much as you clearly are, I'm extra super duper glad we left Chicago."

I can't say I have patience for people who say that Portland is hostile to bikers. Things aren't perfect, and I doubt they ever will be when drivers get behind the wheel drunk off their ass at midnight on a Wednesday night and cars so clearly outweight a bike and its rider, but bikers who can't acknowledge how incredibly accomadating Portland is won't make much political impact if all they see is what Portland isn't.

Even if the rest of my personal goals don't work out, I can't believe how much I'm energized by how bike-friendly Portland is. I mean, I can believe, but I'll make sure not to take it for granted.

0 people had something to say