A mountain and a half.

2003-06-28 at 12:36 p.m.

Here it is, noon, and I've already gone 25 miles.

Okay, see, normally I'd feel quite good about that, but I've had a reality check that that's not really a big deal, compared to "real" bike riders. But it's not a race, here, people. It's just me working some bike miles into my every day life.

(I just got an email from someone who's an awesome biker, and I'm sure for him 30 miles is a no-brainer, a no-big-dealer, and so I feel quite weak and puny--especially when one considers he has a job and I don't. So, I'm just ever so slightly defensive. I'll get over it.)

The really important thing, though? I climbed Mt. Tabor, rode down, and climbed halfway up again. Without stopping once. Without even dropping into the lowest gear possible. For very long, anyway. Whaddya think of that? It was gorgeous--you could see Mt. Hood through the peaks in the trees. There's still something that zings through my midwestern flat-land blood every time I see a mountain. With snow on it in June, no less!

The last time I tried to do Mt. Tabor, I was with Becca, and the ice-cream man met us halfway up. That's not a euphimism, it was literally a guy in an ice cream truck. That pretty much spells the end of an uphill climb on a hot day--the temptation of a creamsicle was too much.

So, I have more biking to do today--I have to take in some homework to the math building, and I want to buy some fabric, and I have to do some grocery shopping, and I plan to do it all via bike. But I got a good start to my day.

I will not be defensive, I will not be defensive, I will not be defensive....

0 people had something to say