Rec'ing havoc.

2003-10-30 at 7:59 p.m.

SWEET GODS AND GODDESSES OF MERCY!

They've arrived! They've arrived! They've arriiiiiiiiiived!

So I had everything done and turned in, right? Application, test scores, transcripts, personal goals statement, blah blah paperwork-in-triplicate-cakes.

But what was frustrating--as you probably know already, since I've talked about it once or twice (or thrice)--was waiting for the recommendations.

The first recommendation I'd asked for came in right away. It was fanTAStic. It was weird reading this from someone I'd volunteered for last spring.

But the other two were... not coming.

And not coming.

And not coming.

AND NOT FREAKIN' COMING.

So I lined up two other people. Two separate people from where I'm currently volunteering. One was the supervisor from where I volunteered over the summer, one was the guy I'm currently working with.

"Oh, I'd LOVE to write you a rec! Yeah! Yeah!"

No seriously, he's that type of guy.

I normally volunteer on Wednesdays, so I arranged with Dave and Dena that I would pick up the letters when I was in this Wednesday.

So yesterday I walk in, snappy as can be, and go upstairs to find... Dave's not there. And the students were dressed... quite nicely. In fact, they had...suits on. And ties. And what alternate universe did I just walk into?

"Oh," Chad said, looking slightly abashed. "We have a Career Day today. Kids are interviewing at 10:30... and before that they're preparing for the interviews. I don't know when Dave's going to be in."

Awkward silence.

"Sorry... no one called your or anything."

Hey, no problem, right? I bitch about having too much shit to do, and this means I have one less thing to do and... why did it have to be THIS week?

Turns out, Dena's not around either. And hasn't left instructions with anyone about no letter or nothin'.

Oy.

So I leave (and productively use those two hours I've gained by watching "I Love the Eighties Strikes Back" years 1984 and 1987... I love Michael Ian Black in ways I can't even describe) and call Dena and Dave and leave two pretty much identical sounding messages:

"Hey, hope everything's well, I'm super grateful you agreed to write a rec for me, but you weren't around today when I stopped in to pick it up, so... if you could give me a call and let me know what I should do? I'd be really grateful. Otherwise, I'll stop back in Friday."

Both called (independently), super apologetic, proclaiming the letter would be with the receptionist after Thursday afternoon and la la la. So it's not really a sweating-it situation, but it sorta is, because that makes my Friday REALLY crowded. But whatever.

In the meantime?

The original two recommendations have both come in. I'm holding them in my hot little hands right now.

That means I DEFINITELY have three, and might have five to choose from.

Lordy lordy lordy. Girl doesn't know what to do with her riches.

0 people had something to say