Obligatory list of resolutions, 2004.

2004-01-01 at 11:11 p.m.

  1. Take care of myself. That means eat healthy, get exercise, floss and moisturize. Drink water. That kind of grown up shit.

  2. Take care of my relationship. That means think twice, speak once. That means emotional honesty, intellectual attention, and physical... well, physical. Heh. Realize some parts will be easier than others and realize that it's not work paying attention and valuing someone I love.

  3. Take care of my finances. Think of all the money I've wasted in my life, that has disappeared and now I have nothing--no memory, no lasting satisfaction, no tactile sensation--to show for it. Try to prevent this from happening further in the future. Appreciate having what I need, while realizing I do not need what I merely want.

    Or at least stick to the damn grocery budget.

  4. Take the humor. In everything. More than taking life less seriously, take it more humorously. I love eye wrinkles, and I don't have nearly enough. I do, though, have a new wrinkle between my eyebrows from frowning. This disturbs me.

  5. Remember more often: life is not a race. When panicking about starting a new career that others started much younger, remember that it's not about finding a job early or late, but at all. It's not about doing things quickly or slowly, but doing things well and really living them while you're doing them. It's about being a full participant in your life, taking responsibility for your choices, and giving luck an opportunity to pay you a visit.

Here's to a great new year.

0 people had something to say