And it (almost) begins...

2004-03-23 at 3:08 p.m.

So, it's all official. I become an Official Teaching Type of Person on Monday. Admittedly it's student teaching, but that's still in the Pantheon of People Highschoolers Are Leery Of, so I guess I have TPing in my future.

This whole University schedule thing is quick crack-addled, though. I need something to help me through it. Just this spring term, for instance, my schedule is like this:

2 weeks: high school, full time, with "Co-operating Teacher".

3 weeks: classes, M 9-4, T 9-12, W 9-7 (aaack!), Th 9-12.

3 weeks: back in the high school, full time (whatever THAT is, and my "Co-operating Teacher" hasn't been too clear on that)

2 weeks: back in classes, with the above wacked-out schedule).

That's just spring term.

Summer term, I have one six-week course, two three-week courses, one two week course, and once course that, y'know? I'm not really sure. At least in college, I was relatively sure of my schedule for ten weeks at a time. Not counting any hypothetically skipped classes, of course.

Just kidding. I'm such a nerd, I almost never skipped classes. Much.

For some reason it's just spring and summer terms that are this out of control.

As for my co-operating teacher, this could be an interesting relationship. I met him last week, after school got out. "I got a letter in my box asking me if I wanted to take you on," he said to me soon after we shook hands. "I thought, wellllll, I was someone's student teacher once, too, so I suppose I should do this for someone else..."

Yeah, that pumped me right the hell up.

Turns out, he's part of the teacher's union bargaining team, and perhaps, maybe, just a wee bit cynical. Or bitter. Not that I can blame him or anything, given the remarkable state of the Portland Public Schools' situation. But still, let's just say the enthusiasm for our joint working relationship wasn't exactly rolling off him in waves. I do expect to get some insight into the machinations of being a teacher, however jaded the viewpoint may be. So, something unique.

It doesn't feel real yet, though. Despite the fact that I registered for classes today (and am now thousands of dollars in debt already), I'm still just a part-time bookstore employee with a dusty messy house, a goofy adorable husband who can't tell Martin Sheen and Michael Douglas apart, and a dog who doesn't obey really well yet.

2 people had something to say