Realizations

2004-03-31 at 7:07 p.m.

I had a realization the other day, which I keep going back to.

It started because everyone (me included) is very confused about my program. Friends and family (and them what's both) have been asking "how're classes going?" for months now, so that probably adds to the confusion. So to clear it all up: I started my teacher program on Monday, and a year from now, I'll be finished.

Let me say that second part again: a year from now, I'll be finished.

That was the realization that flipped my shit the other day. It's one thing to set these crazy machinations in motion, to upend our lives to reroute our future, and all that. But it's entirely another to sort of grasp it all.

A year from now, I'll be a teacher for real. Well, in the real sense of no job, but still be a teacher, as in certified and all that. Licensed to teach.

Heh.

So I've just finished my third day of my first week, and can I tell you the second thing I realized?

I freaking LOVE this.

I'm in a big ol' high school, and part of it make me giggle (no shit, the kids keep those fold-up metal-and-polypropewhatsit camping chairs in their lockers so they can sit in the hallways between classes and during lunch--it both is sublimely ridiculously reminscent of holding court and at the same time, well, of course! Lunchtime is forty minutes long, and if for a five buck investment you could get a comfortable chair that would fit in your locker, you would too!) and the rest just makes the time go really fast. I love the classes and I love the kids and I love the math and it all just works out really right.

I'm beat.

0 people had something to say