Thirty days.

2004-06-08 at 8:23 p.m.

So, this Ronald Reagan thing is weirding me out, and I've spent some quality time thinking about why.

First and foremost, this sort of adulation and worship of an at-best-absentminded president slightly frightens me, and at the same time clarifies a lot. No wonder some don't see the problem with Bush II. We've been conditioned to think that vagueness and empty promises are the sign of a healthy presidency.

In all this "Reagan in Review" blather, there's lots of talk about what he did right (none of which comes to mind at the moment, although I'm sure there's, well, something). So I was thinking about everything he did wrong... and then I noticed that Leah said it all, and more, and better.

NPR was talking for a while about him lying in state for a month which... ew. I mean, when someone near to me, that I've hugged and laughed with and cried with dies, then yes, I want to be part of the memorial services. But when a man with Alzheimers dies at 93--and by all accounts, lived a full life--and I hardly knew him except by what I saw on TV? I'm not exactly weeping here. And I'm kind of freaked out by the people who are. I was racking my brain for someone I didn't personally know for whom I would feel that emotional should they die and... nope. I mean, if there was another Presidential Assassination, I'd be shocked and concerned (President Cheney!) but I can't say I'd weep. Hollywood? I'd feel the tragedy, but I wouldn't haul my butt out to see their dead body. Sports, music, politics... I can't really say I'd weep.

(Parents, siblings, husband, friends, family... that's a different kettle of fish. I'm not a heartless wench, here.)

And I heard they're flying flags at half-mast for a 30 days. Which... I mean... huh? Essentially this nation has been mourning Reagan since Nance announced the Alzheimers, so this orgy of grief just does not compute. 30 days? What?

4 people had something to say