I see... Math Teachers!

2004-10-07 at 6:59 p.m.

Ooooookay, I'm out in Spokane, WA and now as part of the Wireless Generation, I'm accessing the internet in my hotel room from my laptop!

But wait, there's more geekitude!

I'm here for a math teachers conference! Where we sign up all day for talks like "Metacognitive Strategies for Teaching Problem Solving" and "Data Collection Activites and Performance Tasks to Teach Concepts in Algebra and Pre-Algebra"! No, seriously, those are the real titles. Cool, huh?

Heh.

Other talks, though, have cooler names. "From Frogs to Fractals." "Getting Wise to the ways of Advertising (Using Math to see how advertisers are tricking you!)" "Psychedelic Numbers" (no, seriously, I'm SO going to see that one!) and my favorite: "I See... Parabolas!"

Who says math teachers don't have a sense of humor?

Pulling up to the hotel today, though, Mr M. and I looked out the car window in horror at the Obviously Teacher People who were exiting the hotel. Clearly a speaker had just finished. Women in ill-fitting tummy-pooch-hugging pleated skirts. Men in ties with tan jackets and sneakers. A woman in a HALLOWEEN sweater! With a giant felt pumpkin and googly eyes!

Why must people fulfill the bad stereotypes? Why can't they fulfill the good ones?

I'll keep you updated, but this should be good. And I'll tell you all about the frogs, the psychedelics, and the parabolas.


0 people had something to say