Introducing the Frat Squad.

2004-10-13 at 6:34 p.m.

There's a bit of schizophrenia inherent in being a student teacher. I'm a teacher! I must have lesson plans! No, I'm a student! I must take notes during lecture! I'm a teacher! I'm a student! I'm a teacher! I'm a student!

I'm exhausted.

Truth be told, the mid-week day of classes is not SO bad. It's nice to be back in the certainty of being a student. I know what I need to do, and there's so much to think about, and so little to produce (comparatively speaking) that it's nice to return to the cocoon, even if for a super long day (hello, I WISH classes were only workin' nine to five!). And it's nice to see my classmates, people with whom I was sharing pretty much every waking hour until September this year.

But I swear, some of them are close to pushing me over the edge. Off the Grid Girl, who's WAY too crazy about politics. And veganism. And politics. (She was the one I wrote about earlier, who said 9/11 reminded her of the time she saw a tree fall in the forest.) And there's Gloomy Von Grouchy who JESUS CHRIST, can you get off your high horse wagon about the sloppy papers that people are turning in and relax, because seriously, if neatness is all that counts for you, you are going to be a bitter bitter man in about three years of teaching. Bitterer Bitterer man, I suppose I mean.

But this term there's something extra special. The Frat Squad.

We have one class that is... well, it's a mixture. The material is Special Education. The professor is doesn't teach with the certainty that perhaps we are used to. Or that we are so freaking sure we're going to have when we teach. And there's some amount of really dry material to cover (IDEA was passed in 1997, requiring educators to provide a FAPE to students using LRE and LEA and... gah!).

But how old are we? Do we really need to sit in the back of the class cracking jokes? I may not have admiration for the teacher, but she knows some shit we don't, and if not, she's at least raising important points about how to integrate kids who are getting a modified diploma into a regular classroom, as is THEIR CIVIL RIGHT, so quit BITCHING about it, and learn how to HELP them, help ALL your students!

Gah!

I have no patience for this. I'll admit to being a nerdy student, but I think some of that is from this: I believe everyone knows something I do not. I may not like them, but I can learn from them. I also believe everyone deserves my respect until they do something unethical or immoral. Treating people like this = SO NOT COOL.

Also? I'm paying a coupla grand to be here, so I might as well get something out of it. Just because a few members of a Frat Squad think they're Too Cool for School, I wouldn't have a beef with. But when they interfere with me getting my money's worth out of a somewhat expensive class?

Watch out, kiddos, the sleeves are getting ROLLED UP!

1 people had something to say