Swinging 'round the bend.

2004-10-29 at 12:59 p.m.

Hey, didja hear? Oregon's a swing state this year!

Yes! A swing state!

In four years, no one's come to Oregon. In the past four months, we've had Kerry, Bush, Cheney and Edwards. Several times each. Sometimes on the same day.

The ads! Oy! The ads!

And the radio!

And the billboards!

And the JESUS CHRIST I SENT IN MY BALLOT ALREADY CALL ME WHEN ITS OVER!!!!

Gasp. Pant pant pant. Inhale, exhale. I tell you, in one sense I really miss Illinois, which was going to go Democrat even if the dead had to get up and vote twice. (Oh, and go, Barack Obama "the skinny kid with the funny name".)

Oregon has mail-in ballots, which is great because then you have four weeks to forget to vote, so you might remember sometime in there. Rumor has it mail-in ballots increase voter turn-out, so it'll be interesting to see which state has the highest voter participation rate.

Seriously, I don't understand how people could not vote in this election. Well, if you're trapped under a large piece of machinery I understand, and if you don't speak any English at all and don't read a newspaper, watch TV, read your mail, or leave your house, I understand. But in this house (IN A SWING STATE!!!) we get on average three calls a day asking us if we'd be polled. Organizations we belong to or donate to (like Planned Parenthood, say) call us and ask us to vote. It's incredibly freeing to be able to say, "I've already voted and sent my ballot in, thanks!"

I'm quite nervous about Tuesday. I'll be teaching in the morning, but then I have an afternoon of JESUS GOD, can I just wake up tomorrow PLEASE????

101 hours and counting until polls start closing.

3 people had something to say