...and just like that, peace.

2004-12-03 at 11:25 p.m.

I was wired today. It was a grading day, last day of the winter trimester at the high school. Folks who'd been teaching have to turn in grades for all their students.

I however did not have that problem. All I wanted to do was move into my desk, set up my situations in the three different classrooms I'll be boinging between, figure out the seating charts--not necessarily assign seats, but since I'll be in other teachers' rooms, I wanted to know how they arranged their desks so I'd know how my kids were going to have to sit.

(As an aside, it's apparently very controversial, how you have kids sit. Coach was always irate whenever he had to use another room where the kids sat in pairs. He hated hated hated it! It was paranoia about cheating, mostly. I was never quite sure why, it's not like they were taking a test every day or anything. He's very traditional, though--his room was every desk on its own, which just feels like a very lonely classroom for a kid.)

But Dude, who is very kindly going on his sabbatical to Suriname or wherever so that I can have a job, wouldn't clear out his desk, or clear out his room, so I had nowheres to go and nuthins to do.

Okay, sure I could have done lesson planning. But while I was lesson planning, I was seated at the big kitchen table in the middle of the teacher's office room, and all I could focus on was that I couldn't even tell what I needed, because I couldn't put my stuff away in my desk. And Dude? Oh, he went to play basketball for an hour.

It's like when you move apartments--you can't leave your old one until the new one is empty, and it seems like those damn squatters will never move!

Finally I gave up my zooed-tiger pacing and said I was leaving. It was so pointless for me to be there. I'll go back in tomorrow and set up my desk and make sure everything is printing and yay, and whatall.

I came home and puttered, putting off as long as possible the actual work that's part of what I'm getting paid for.

And then finally I sat down and made myself grind it out. I have my first week planned almost entirely, up to and including my first quiz in Geometry. I have the second week sketched out and should be able to finish it tomorrow.

I have both of my course syllabi (heh) ready to copy and hand out.

I even have my first grade sheets typed up and ready for attendance.

It's like the clouds have parted, the birds have started their first few tentative chirps, and all is well again. Or at least, will be soon.

(Now all I have to do is figure out how I'm going to get all these damn copies of everything made, y'all. Damn!)

1 people had something to say