Kickball.

2005-07-15 at 11:35 a.m.

I hit a double in the kickball game last night. Wheeeeeee!

Kickball is loads of fun. Grownups acting like sixth grades but with a much more refined sense of not picking on people who can't handle it. It sounds weird, but they are SO SUPPORTIVE about newcomers, it's almost like a tupperware party. "Yeah, nice bunt! GOOD JOB!" "Oh, you ALMOST got it! Nice effort!" "Yeah, way to go, guys!" I haven't laughed so hard and cheered so hard WHILE LOSING in my entire life.

I was so excited about my double. I couldn't believe it when I was standing on second. "YEAH! I ROCK!" I screamed to my team. They were bouncing and screaming like maniacs. "I GOT ON BASE! I think I peed my pants a little bit!"

Afterwards, of course, all the kickball teams repair to the East Bank Saloon for self-congratulatory PBRs and compare notes. "The CHEATERS beat the KICKTASTICS!" was the excited murmuring last night. "OHMIGOD, really?" "WOOOOOOOOO! We beat the Kicktastics!" "Hey, we only lost by four to the Mount Hoodlums!" These are bankers, programmers, teachers, publicists, reduced to adolescense and loving it.

Me too!

1 people had something to say