What is twenty four hours divided by me?

2005-07-25 at 4:48 p.m.

So, I was in training all last week. While it was ridiculously fun at some points, it was a kind of fun that doesn't translate well--lots of "you had to be there" stories. For example, four of us laughed until we cried--got the church giggles, as it were--for about half an hour because we found out that we'd just proven that 3 divided by 4 is 3/4.

See? You had to be there. Oh, and you had to be a geek, too, but there you go. At a minimum, you had to be there.

So last week I got the lawn chairs in, the rusty vintage bouncy patio chairs from Ebay (the "oops, that bid WON?" chairs) and I didn't dare open them. Andrew of the "Can I tell you what your Christmas present is?" and Emily of the "Dan you got a package and I opened it" couldn't believe that I hadn't opened those chairs. They just sat there on our back stoop. But I knew when I opened them I'd want to work on them RIGHT THEN and I had this training and whatall.

So Andrew finally opened them yesterday. Heh. And you know what? I wanted--NEEDED--to work on them. Scrape that paint! Sand that rust! Hi-ya!

And today, Monday, now everyone's at work and I've had the first honest-to-god vacation day in a long long time. I've sat on the back stoop between layers of Jasco-enabled paint scraping and coats of Rustoleum reading a trashy novel and worrying about getting a sunburn. I can't remember the last time I sat outside and read and only got up to get myself another glass of strawberry lemonade.

It's been heeeeeeeaven. I mean, sunny, sevety-five degree heeeeeaven.

There's no plot to this entry, no opening closing tie it up neat with a pretty bow. Just like today. It's just there, and nice, and I am content.

0 people had something to say