Nerves.

2005-08-11 at 4:59 p.m.

My parents are coming to visit today and for some reason I'm insanely nervous. I mean, heart palpitations, I can't sit still, sweaty palms nervous.

I'm thirty one. What's wrong with me?

I can't wait for them to see the new house, for Lee (she's coming too, yay!) to hang with Matilda, for them to sit in the sun (or--well, slightly cloudy) in the back yard. I want to show off what we've done here, I want them to like it.

I feel slightly chagrined that I want their approval so badly, but there it is--I really really want them to be proud of what we've got here.

I want them to come to the kickball game and have fun. I want to go to Astoria with them tomorrow and laugh and be silly. I want to hang out with them, like I remember doing so long ago.

And I'm really really nervous about it. How embarassing is that?

1 people had something to say