"Kara-oke": empty orchestra.

2005-09-24 at 11:03 a.m.

Last night I was going to be a Good New Teacher and go to the teacher barbeque where the principal ("P-A-L 'cus He's a PAL!") was grilling the hot dogs and thence to the football game.

But after a day of kids who had been turned up to 11 and catching a freshman cheating on a crappy little eight point quiz and realizing that I probably have twenty hours of grades-entering to do in the Very Near Future, and THEN finding out about a MANDATORY NEW TEACHER MEETING FOR AN HOUR AFTER SCHOOL ON A FRIDAY (Wha? Whose brainstorm was that? Yes, let's take time-starved new teachers and make them go to a Friday meeting? So that in order to NOT have to work over the weekend they have to stay an extra hour on a Friday?) the last, the very last thing I wanted to do was talk to, see, hear, or even feel the breeze coming off as they walk by, another teacher.

So instead I went and saw my cutie bride-to-be friend try on a wedding dress she's desperately trying to pretend doesn't already own her soul. And then went to the Jolly Roger (ARRRR!) with the wedding party where we talked about embarassing periods, bad drivers license photos (I just got my work ID, and apparently my school employs the mentally handicapped, which is nice. Or at least that's what you'd think if you saw my ID picture), how to keep your daughters off the pole, and other assorted topics. And then went to Grandma's "for just one more drink" and ended up karaoke-ing Vanilla Ice, Joan Jett and Nancy Sinatra, and cheering on probably the best 50-cent impersation ever (they have 50-cent on karaoke? why do I find this incredibly bizarre?) and compiling the list of Easy and Fun and Crowd Pleasing Karaoke Songs That Are Singable After A Night of Drinking and Shouting and Smoking (Woolly Bully, Hank Williams, Sublime "What I Got", Weezer, "Beverly Hills", Cake, "Short Skirt Long Jacket"... )

And then called Andrew to say that despite the fact it's 3 a.m. and I have the car--or maybe because of it--he needs to come get me (and he did because he loooooooves me and he's the BEST GUY IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD!) and then he cooked me a STEAK and then I passed out...

...and life? she is so very very very good right now.

2 people had something to say