AAAAUUUGGGHHHH!!!!!

2003-08-06 at 10:16 p.m.

So no more riding for me, until I'm back in the Central Time Zone. The bike is being boxed up so I can take it on the plane with me. Or rather, check it, but you understand.

I DID nearly die on the way to getting the bike to the bike shop so they could disassemble it and pack it in a box. Long story short, I'm crossing the street, totally legally and totally within my right of way, and not sneaking through traffic AT ALL but rather having waited my turn in a totally law-abiding manner, when the car who's been waiting opposite me decides SHE's turning left, which unfortunately for me would take her on a path DIRECTLY THROUGH ME.

Clearly this didn't happen, as I'm sitting here typing this.

What I'd like to say happened was this: I slapped the car, fixing the muffin driver with my jedi-death glare, and whipped off a scathing comment about suburban blonds driving big fat Buicks while sailing jauntily past her, standing up in my pedals.

What happened was this: I screamed like one of the pod people in "Invasion of the Body Snatchers"

What really happened was this: I screamed like a six-year-old girl.

What I hoped happened was this: other drivers, passers by, and anyone within a six mile radius mistook that screeching for squealing brakes.

Yes, I'm alive to tell the tale, and didn't even emerge with road rash. However, I really hope no one who actually saw that will ever recognize me. TOTALLY ruin my street cred.

0 people had something to say