Groceries.

2003-10-04 at 12:08 p.m.

So Andrew and I had a big fight the other day. (You'll notice, for the two or three of you who read this, that I haven't really spoken about fights or whatever... I figure it's not fair to Andrew, since fights are both-of-ours faults and if I write about it here, it'll TOTALLY come out as if it's ALL HIS FAULT, and that's just a bad way to have a good relationship, y'know?)

Anyway, we had a fight about division of labor, as it, can we please please divide it? When I was unemployed, sure I didn't mind doing all the grocery shopping, most of the cooking, and most of the cleaning. And let's face it, I NEVER thought I'd be in a relationship where I would be the one insisting on cleaning. Mom, if you're reading this--it's all you.

And, I think, Andrew got used to it.

But now that I'm employed (and employed and employed and going to class) it's a different story. So it got to the point where we had no food in the house, Andrew was running out of clean underwear, there were colonies of new forms of something growing on the kitchen counter and one could write one's name in the grime in the tub which is just... not right. Which led to a bit of a tiff between the two of us.

So I went to work on Thursday in a foul foul mood. I hate fighting and I especially hate fighting with Andrew and all I wanted to do was go home and sleep and then clean and go grocery shopping just to escape the grossness. I made it through work, but barely barely barely.

When I got off work, I called Andrew.

"Are you still at work?"

"Nope."

"...At home?"

"Nope."

"Where are you?"

"Keep guessing!"

"...I really have no idea. At the bar?"

"I'm at the grocery store! I meant to be done earlier, but it took me longer than I'd planned to clean the house."

hee.

So I took the bus home.

The story could end there, but for history's sake, I"d like to point out what we now have in our kitchen:

4 frozen pizzas

2 boxes of frozen waffles

4 loaves of bread

1 package of hotdog buns

1 package of hamburger buns

2 six packs of beer

1 gallon of milk

1 bag of cereal

8 containers of yogurt

6 bananas.

As someone pointed out: we have the white, yellow, and brown food groups well covered. True, our only fresh food is the bananas, but he went and honestly, as long as he can keep this up, I'm happy.



0 people had something to say