Letter to Lee.

2004-04-11 at 9:03 p.m.

Lee--

Sadness!

CBS is casting for The Amazing Race season 6.

And both partners must live in the US.

Now, this isn't the reason I'm excited to see that you're thinking seriously about moving back to the US. That is, it isn't the only reason.

(I mean, let's face it. You and I? We'd kick communal ASS. Seriously. Plus I'm sure we'd have some drama queen moments where I break down in a bar somewhere and dredge up some old prepubescent hurts screaming "Mea FUCKING CULPA already!!!" as the bar patrons fall silent and stare. Good times! Great TV! And prizes!)

But seriously? Nights like this? I want to call you. And this whole nine hour time difference can really just bite my white (and slightly jiggly) behind.

Of course, I understand that Paris is your home right now, and you can't move anywhere because *I* want it. And I'd understand if you lived your entire life in some Elsewhere that is not here (here being a very large country anyway, so you feel just as near/far is our parents and our brother, so in that sense it's a little irrelevant). In fact, I totally encourage it.

It's not like I don't understand the What Else? question. What else can I see? Do? What experiences can I take and meld in and absorb and open up to that make me really see this world?

But times like right now--right now--I miss you like crazy.

I'm so totally off my head excited that you're going to be here in August. (And on a Tuesday night, too! Holy freaking shit!) Matilda is going to get to meet her aunt. You can see the desk I built (and the slipcover I made, and the art I did and...). My friends can finally meet this woman I boast about.

But really? I hope one day you do end up living in the US again. Because we SO need to apply for The Amazing Race.

Love,

Your big sis.

1 people had something to say