The Box.

2004-05-19 at 8:38 p.m.

I really really really need to shut up more often.

Seriously.

(Hey, no smart-ass comments from the peanut gallery, please.)

So today I was in my methods class (part invigorating, part frustrating, part just a metric shit ton of work) and we had a guest speaker.

He was answering someone's question about a toolbox--you know, having more than one method of reaching a kid.

"You'll get the tools," Guest Speaker said. "You already have the box, you'll get the tools. It just takes experience. Time. I mean, you have the box."

Pause for emphasis.

"The box is cheap."

"Hey!" I said, in mock outrage.

Faster than the time it takes to read this, I covered my face, horrified I'd said that out loud with a Guest Speaker in the room. Worse, Geo Alyssa and Solar System Stephen on either side of me started giggling. I looked up in mortification and Spit-Take Russ was snickering too. And I could hear Husky-Voiced Geometry Teacher next to Geo Alyssa chortling as well.

Which, of course, helped neither my please-can-I-curl-up-and-die-right-now nor my own case of the Church Giggles. It was like the "Talking about Uranus" humor all over again.

This is a class of, oh, ten people?

Why can't I shut up? Or act my age?

Or at least get my mind out of the gutter.

0 people had something to say