Twenty twenty twenty four hours to go...

2004-11-01 at 7:29 p.m.

You know what finishes tomorrow? Guess! Guess what finishes tomorrow!

No, silly, not that... I mean, it does, but that's not what I'm celebrating. (Mostly because I know it'll drag on for days...)

No, it's my first work sample! My unit is done! The kids take their test, I have to assess their learning gains and write it up all nice and dandy and then wahoooooo! I'm halfway to being a real teacher!

Or something.

I don't know how my worried face girl is going to do. I've tried to work with her a couple times, but she shies away almost immediately. And Seth will probably do just fine--he always does. The cheerleader who's always so behind--she should do fine. I can't figure out what makes her struggle, because she's bright and determined. Coach thinks she's just lazy. I think it's more than that, I mean, clearly she's behind when she shouldn't be, and she's not fantastic at followthrough. Maybe it's just a search for attention--rumor has it her home life is breaking down six ways from Sunday. And she's had two straight years of teachers telling her she's bad at math, which can't be unlearned in three weeks (oh, that it could be). I suppose we'll see tomorrow how she's going to do, along with the worried face girl, and little Miss Firecracker, and the skate punk, and, oh my favorite! is little 1982 Punk, with his four inch mohawk and amazing work ethic and brain that works much harder than you'd think to see his skinny jeans and low slung neon belts and jean jacket with the arms ripped off. I love it when people actively live against stereotype.

So the plan for the rest of the term, all five weeks left, is to write up my work sample, teach a little here and a little there and to suck it up and prep for next term. I'm way excited to get my own class and my own schedule and to set my own terms.

Yee ha!

Oh, and THANK GOD THE ELECTIONS ALMOST OVER.

And may the gods help us, every one, however it turns out, but please please please let it turn out well as in NOT W.

0 people had something to say