Hollidailies begin: now with more eeeee!

2004-12-01 at 7:55 p.m.

This morning, as I'm waiting for a ride to go to my Last! Day! of Classes!, I get a phone call from the math department at my high school. My license has come in, she says (eeee!), and they'd like to start paying me tomorrow.

No, seriously. Tomorrow.

(eeee!)

It's 7:55 right now, so twelve hours from now (eeeeee!) I'll be a Paid! Teacher!

(eee!)

Makes me kinda want to shit my pants. Or boogie. I suppose one could sort of lead to the other, though.

Classes today were weird with that knowledge in the back of my head, though. And while I haven't been shy about sharing my news (eeee!) with my cohort classmates, it also wasn't something I wanted to, y'know, stand up and announce. But in our first class, we start with "Appreciations and Concerns", a chance for us to each take 30 seconds to either, well, appreciate someone or express a concern. Most of us don't have much to say, but there's usually five or so people who'll say, "Hey, I appreciated that Scott sent me an email with the work I missed last week." I once used A&C to express my concern (a.k.a. HATRED) for the Frat Squad and its rudeness (rudity?) to our other professor. ANYWAY, today, I passed on A&C, until the health teacher next to me said excitedly, "Wait, aren't you going to share your news???" And I wasn't going to, really. Those who I was on good terms with knew. The others, I dunno, I didn't want to really brag or boast or rub anyone's noses in anything, so I was just going to leave it. But once she did that, I just smiled and averted my eyes and quietly said, "I... I got a job." (eeee!)

People clapped. It was sweet.

I continue with the awe that adults who want to be teachers can still be so rude to another teacher. In our special education class we were talking about having vision- and hearing-impaired students in our classes. We talked about deaf culture and the difference between signed English and ASL and really cool shit, y'know? And Dipwad, next to me, was blatantly reading Confederacy of Dunces or falling asleep, depending on when you looked at him. This is college, yo. If you don't want to be there, don't come and make it blatantly obvious that you don't want to be there. Just... don't be there.

Oh! And then! So, we're discussing the work we've had to do for the class! And it hasn't been horribly demanding. I mean, like, two in-class group papers--of four pages, each, mind you--and four two-page essays, and then our take-home midterm. And she's accepting them at any point in the term, not counting them down for being late or anything. And Dipwad is getting all nitpicky! "Do we have to do them?" "How much are they worth?" "Do we have to do them?" "When do we have to get them to you?" "Monday??? Why not Wednesday?" "No, really, how much are they worth?"

"You're as bad as my students," I murmur out of the side of my mouth.

"I'm not going to do them anyway," he snickers to me.

"So... why do you care how much they're worth, then?"

And then he pulled out his novel and tilted his chair back against the wall and went to sleep.

Dipwad.

But you know what? (eeee!) Last. Class.

There are some of them I'm going to miss. Geo Girl, Spit-take (who, also, is teaching! For Pay! (eeee!) and is totally someone I'm in awe of), Floura, an art teacher who manages to wear the craziest colors and make them work and she looks just like Maggie Gyllenhaal.

(I'll see them again--in January, we have a seminar class, but it's all about how to interview and find and get a job (hmmmm...).)

So everyone asked today, "Are you excited?" And the answer is yes, of course (eeee!) but... but it just doesn't seem real! But I'm starting to get nervous. But I just want to get started for real. But... but... but...

(eeee!)

So I'm off, into the career of teaching for real tomorrow (eee!), and I start actually teaching on Monday.

I have four days to plan at least the first two weeks of school. Hiya! I'm off!

(eeeeeeeeeeeee!)

0 people had something to say