Weekend roundup.

2005-02-21 at 8:48 p.m.

Andrew is currently thinking of upgrading his image so we went to Nordstrom's to buy a shirt. The salesman came up to him and asked, "What size are we?" Maybe it was the use of the royal we. Maybe it was the novelty of being at a store where the salespeople approached you. Maybe he was also sick that day. But Andrew went a little crazy.

Today, before he left for work, he approached me. "Ninety-nine dollars."

What?

"We can get ninety-nine dollars if you take this tie and this undershirt back."

You bought a tie and an undershirt that comes to NINETY-NINE DOLLARS? What are they made out of, gold? The fine ass-hair of virgin monks?

So I took them back today while he was at work and I had the day off school and was theoretically grading, and went to Men's Warehouse and bought a tie for $19.99. I didn't like the $75 tie anyway.


Oh, and about lesson planning? I so would be, except I'm not going to be teaching anything in terms of geometry or algebra CONCEPTS. No, next week is going to be our No Child Left Behind testing, and since we're under the gun for math acheivement, this week is going to be entirely spent teaching TO the test, as mandated by the math department head.

Yes, Mr. President, you singlehandedly have deprived at least 140 students of two solid weeks of education in math. Now multiply that by a million or two: this is your legacy. The school kids thank you--it means no homework!


My new obsession: Project Runway. The finale shows on Wednesday, but in the meantime--I TiVo'd the whole season, and sweet jesus, does this make a show like Survivor just look lame. Also, like I'm an untalented slob. Check it out. And go, Kara Saun!



0 people had something to say