Letter to TPTB

2005-03-02 at 9:38 p.m.

Dear Nature, God, Fickle Finger of Fate, Goddess of all we survey, or Whoever the Hell is in Charge of this Shit Anyway:

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to redirect my life and take a chance on teaching. Or for changing my mind and realizing that finding What I'm Meant to Do is more important than paying for European Jaunts. However you worked it, thank you.

Thank you for directing that fateful internet dating thing towards me meeting Andrew. As farty as he can get, he's also the cutest, sweetest man I can imagine. Yeah, he's got some rough parts but every year, his smooth over. No matter how quick some intimate moments may go (ahem), others have lasted years now.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to link my life with a man who will take a chance on relocating to an entirely new city, state, time zone, and way of life. And thank you for making it work. When he gets a call from a friend-of-a-friend-of-a-friend (that's become a friend all on his own) inviting him for poker or darts, he's giddy with happiness. The fact that two of our best friends were originally my brother's friends is a little weird, but fits in a way we don't care to scrutinize too much.

So thank you for all that.

My one request: don't let me fuck this up, 'kay? Please. Just--stop me, if I'm about to.

Thanks in advance.

TTFN, Kari.

0 people had something to say