So, uh... I was trapped under a large piece of furniture?

2005-05-22 at 7:30 p.m.

Dayum. You forget to write for a week and a whole bunch happens.

Whaaaaaat a weeeeeeeek.

Got keys to house, great interview for a dream job, get offered dream job, accept dream job.

Every time I was about to update it was always, well, let's wait to see how this pans out! No, wait, until THIS pans ou--no, wait, until THIS--wait!

Ahhhhhh!

So, to recap:

House: done and done. It's ours. Moving in a month. The decision to "start looking" was with the expectation we'd need months to find one we'd agree on and afford. I mean, it felt like there was a divide as big as Red State-Blue State between what I wanted and what he wanted. I got tense and depressed just thinking about it.

And then, the SECOND WEEKEND--this house! was there! angels! they wept! This cutie patootie house had been on the market since November (!) was IN our price range (not at the top!!) and was beyooteeful.

The house? Gorgeous. The closing? DRAGGED ON FOREVER. The wisdom of buying a house before I knew where/if I'd be working next year? Priceless.

Which leads me to:

Job: dreamy. And might I say? DREAMY. I got an interview for a job at a school district that's not in Portland, but is close by. I thought, hey, what the hell, right? I go to this interview and like, every third word they say, my jaw hits the floor. The philosophies? like 'em. For instance, they have someone ON STAFF who is there so that if you want to go observe another teacher, this person can teach your class. THAT WAS AN EXAMPLE THEY GAVE. How does this school district afford this??? Which leads me to: The salary? reeeeeally like 'em.

I drove home from the interview (another bonus: oh, about a 15 minute drive!) hyperventilating. What a DREAM first-year job! DREAM DREAM DREAM!!!! Do I have a chance? I hope I have a chance! How can I get more of a chance? I really want a chance!

They called me the next day. THE NEXT DAY. In fact, they called LESS THAN TWENTY-FOUR HOURS after I first laid eyes on them. I feel all Sally Field about it.

So, upshot: Moving soon, new job.

Ha. And, um... not every break means something big is happening. Sometimes, I really am trapped under an armoire.

3 people had something to say