Check in.

2005-06-13 at 9:04 p.m.

Things I've learned in my two weeks of homeownership:

1. Yard work can be painful. After spending a few hours digging a 10 foot trench 4 inches wide and 12 inches deep, I look like I spent about thirty minutes having a fight with a concrete wall.

2. There should be a special circle in hell for anyone who applies vinyl flooring directly on top of fir wood floors. Bastards bastards bastards!

3. My husband and I have a clear philosophical difference on the nature of Packing to Move. I see it as an opportunity to organize. For instance, make sure all the cookbooks are packed in the same box, even though some are kept in the kitchen and some in the bookshelf. Pack office supplies in boxes according to anticipated need. What might be needed immediately should be in a different box than my financial textbooks and tax records from 1999. (That said? All tax records should be packed together.) My husband, however, sees it as a reason NOT to organize. Call it the Just Move It philosophy. While mine could possibly be seen as a delay technique towards packing (and I readily acknowledge that I have used it as such from time to time), his results in stuff scattered around the basement and attic, with no hope of finding it when we want to unpack. That said, there's not much to "unpack" when nothing's packed and everything's been moved over by carload.

Lots of cranky-bitchy-fight material here. I'm just saying.

4. I'm still so serious about the circle of Hell for the vinyl floor layers. Assholes.

5. Push mowers, while appealing to my granola energy-efficiency leanings, suck major ass. I'm so sore, sitting is painful, and while this might be appealing in terms of working out, in terms of a weekly (or more often) appointment, it brings mowing the lawn to nearly Dentist status. All that, and the lawn doesn't get cut evenly.

6. Dogs do not adjust well to moves.

7. Planning a move sucks even when it's just across town. I just want to be moved in, dammit!

So that's why I haven't been posting. I've got a lot of topics stored up: my new job (yay!), leaving my current one (sniff!), my kickball team (whee!), and other assorted events, but right now, in waking and sleeping moments, The House takes up all extra oxygen. Forgive me if I'm New Parent in my single-topic-conversationality, but this house feels like a kid. Seriously.

And I'm serious about the Hell, by the way.

1 people had something to say